Friday, June 21, 2013

The Evolution of the Mystery Genre



Gregory Mcdonald

The first Fletch novel (1974) introduces I. M. Fletcher, a journalist and ex-marine staying on a beach watching the drug culture for a story, waiting to find the dealer's source before publishing an exposé.[1]

A millionaire businessman named Alan Stanwyk approaches Fletch to hire Fletch to murder him; the man tells Fletch that he is dying of bone cancer and wants to avoid a slow, painful death. Fletch accepts $1000 in cash to listen to the man's proposition; the man offers him $20,000 for the murder, and Fletch talks him up to $50,000 in an effort to see if the man is serious. He appears to be serious, and Fletch begins investigating the man's story in between investigating the drug story on the beach and avoiding the two attorneys after him for alimony for each of his ex-wives.

Gregory Mcdonald (February 15, 1937 – September 7, 2008)

Mcdonald was an American mystery writer best known for his creation of the character Irwin Maurice Fletcher, an investigative reporter who preferred the nickname "Fletch." Two of the Fletch books have earned Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America: Fletch was named Best First Novel in 1975 and is also listed #29 on The Top 100 Mystery Novels of All Time by The Mystery Writers of America.

• Running Scared (1964)
• Fletch (1974)
• Confess, Fletch (1976)
• Flynn (1977)
• Fletch's Fortune (1978)
 • Love Among the Mashed Potatoes apa Dear M.E. (1978)
• Who Took Toby Rinaldi? (US title)/Snatched (UK title) (1978)
• The Buck Passes Flynn (1981)
• Fletch and the Widow Bradley (1981)
• Fletch's Moxie (1982)
• Fletch and the Man Who (1983)
• Flynn's In (1984)
• Carioca Fletch (1984)
• Safekeeping (1985)
• Fletch Won (198)
• Fletch, Too (1986)
• A World Too Wide (1987)
• Exits and Entrances (1988)
• Merely Players (1988)
• The Brave (1991)
• Son of Fletch (1993)
• Fletch Reflected (1994)
• Skylar (1995)
• Skylar in Yankeeland (1997)
• Flynn's World